the Neighborhood Design Center

Design for Distancing

This tactical urban design initiative is intended to help small businesses reopen without compromising public health. The effort includes a design competition, a free guidebook, and will encompass over a dozen selected districts across the city. NDC is leading this mayoral initiative with the Baltimore Development Corporation.

Contact: Jennifer Goold, jgoold@ndc-md.org

Read more on the Design for Distancing website.


Pro Bono Design Services

Through the Community Design Works program, NDC offers pro bono conceptual design assistance to community-initiated projects related to the built environment.

Contact: Katryna Carter, kcarter@ndc-md.org or Allie O'Neill, aoneill@ndc-md.org


Place-Based Capacity Building

Through the Place Matters program, NDC partners with place-based organizations to develop networks, skills, and funding (i.e. "capacity") around a place, seeding deep roots from which the neighborhood can thrive and grow.

Contact: Jennifer Goold, jgoold@ndc-md.org


Community Forestry

NDC provides community engagement, design and technical services for street tree design and local forestry management. Partners include local governmental agencies, community leaders, non-profit civic and public health organizations, and neighborhood organizations.

Contact: Yasha Magarik, trees@ndc-md.org


Schoolyard Greening

NDC works with schools in Prince George's County through public agency and nonprofit partnerships to provide native tree plantings, teach students about the value of trees, and install outdoor learning spaces.

Contact: Marita Roos, Mroos@ndc-md.org


Participatory Stormwater management

NDC creates action-oriented design stormwater plans that are water and people friendly, improving water quality while also improving a community's engagement with their landscape.

Contact: Dana Puzey, dpuzey@ndc-md.org


Green Infrastructure and Landscape Design

NDC partners with public agencies to offer communities planting and site design, creating community assets from these sometimes problem sites such as stormwater ponds, medians and public right-of-way landscape projects.

Contact: Dana Puzey, dpuzey@ndc-md.org


Arts Space Technical Assistance

NDC works with artist owned and/or operated spaces in developing their visions, aligning conceptual plans with life safety code compliance, and offering guidance in navigating Baltimore City's approval and regulatory process.

Contact: Karla Brent, kbrent@ndc-md.org or Marian Glebes, mglebes@ndc-md.org